ABC30 News reported a hit-and-run accident near Orosi last week near Road 120 and Avenue 424. According to witness testimony, the crash occurred when a black vehicle failed to stop at an intersection. The black vehicle collided with a red Chevy pushing it into the canal. Emergency crews rescued the occupants of the Chevy. The passengers in the black vehicle were also transported to the hospital for treatment.
The driver of the black vehicle fled the accident scene. Law enforcement agencies are now searching for the driver. Anyone with information is encouraged to contact the police.
Liability for a Hit and Run Accident
When a driver flees the scene of the accident, the accident victim can be left to bear the financial burdens caused by the accident in addition to the physical pain and emotional suffering caused by the hit and run driver. Many people believe if they are in a hit and run accident, they cannot recover damages because the driver who caused the accident is unknown.
However, if you are injured in a hit and run crash, it is important to understand that you may have the ability to recover compensation for your injuries. In some cases, the police are able to locate the negligent driver thereby allowing you to pursue a car accident claim against the driver. For cases in which the hit-and-run driver is never located, you may still receive compensation under your uninsured motorist coverage.
Filing a Claim Against Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage
The minimum uninsured motorist (UM) coverage for bodily injury in California is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. Drivers have the option of purchasing additional coverage. Sadly, many drivers choose to carry the minimum UM insurance requirements. When you are involved in a hit-and-run accident or an accident involving an uninsured driver, the importance of carrying the maximum amount of UM coverage you can afford becomes painfully obvious.
Your UM coverage should cover your medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, and other out-of-pocket expenses. In addition, your UM coverage should pay compensation for your emotional stress, permanent disability, and physical pain. In other words, your UM coverage stands in place of the other driver’s insurance company.
However, you must still prove another driver caused the crash that resulted in your injuries. For that reason, you always want to report any traffic accident, regardless of the severity of damages or it was a hit-and-run accident. You also want to contact a Fresno hit-and-run accident attorney as soon as possible to discuss your legal options. Even though you may be filing a claim against your own insurance policy, your time to file a claim is still limited by California’s statute of limitations.
Call Now For A Free Consultation With a Fresno Hit-and-Run Accident Attorney
The lawyers of Torem & Associates can help you file a claim against your insurance coverage or the hit-and-run driver if he is found. Call our office at 1-800-954-4444 or use the contact form on our website to request additional information about hit-and-run accident claims or schedule your free appointment with an attorney.