California is an “at fault” state for car accidents. In other words, you must prove another driver caused the crash to recover money from that driver’s insurance company for your injuries and damages. Therefore, California law states that all drivers carry a minimum amount of automobile liability insurance. The purpose of this insurance is to protect other people in the event you cause an accident. The minimum coverage a driver must have according to California Insurance Code §11580.1b is: Damage to property — $5,000 Injury or death to one person in the accident — $15,000 Injury or death of two or more people in the accident — $30,000 Whether liability insurance covers car rental charges after an accident depends on whether you are the driver who caused the crash or an accident victim.
Head-on collisions in Fresno can cause severe and fatal injuries to the drivers and occupants of both vehicles. This type of car crash is one of the most dangerous vehicle accidents you can be involved in for several reasons. In many head-on collisions, occupants are crushed as the front of the vehicle crumples upon impact. In other cases, the occupants may be thrown from the vehicle.
When you are injured in an accident, you need to seek medical attention. Depending on the severity of your injuries, you may need surgery, physical therapy, and follow-up medical care. The cost of medical care in an accident case can quickly add into the hundreds of thousands of dollars. Some accident victims have health insurance or Med Pay insurance that can help pay some of the bills. However, many accident victims have thousands of dollars in outstanding medical bills. Because the insurance company for the other driver will not pay any medical costs until the case is settled, the bills could be outstanding for months or years while your case is being negotiated or litigated.
Are you prepared for spring break 2018? If you do not have your children signed up for day camps or activities, you might be scrambling to find something for your children to do. Here are a few of the family friendly activities we discovered in and around Fresno. Puzzling Adventures – Monday, March 26, 2018
You have probably heard or read about the steps to take after a car accident. You know that you need to call 911 to request a police officer and emergency medical services if needed. You even know that you need to take pictures of the car accident, but why do attorneys advise you to take
If you have been injured in a personal injury accident, you need to contact an attorney to discuss filing an accident claim. When another person causes you to be injured through a negligent, careless, or reckless act, you deserve to be compensated for your injuries. Our Fresno personal injury lawyers can help you file your accident claim to seek reimbursement for your financial losses and compensation for your pain and suffering. However, there are some things you can do to help us, especially regarding your medical treatment and records. Below are five things you need to do regarding your medical care after an accident to help strengthen your chances of recovering compensation for your claim.
When you are injured in a car accident, you can suffer a variety of injuries. Some injuries are easy to notice, such as broken bones, lacerations, and burns. However, some injuries may not be as easily known immediately after a car accident, including concussions and whiplash. An accident victim can walk away from the crash feeling “fine” when he or she is really injured. It could just take several hours or days for the person to discover the injury. Once the shock of the accident wears off, the symptoms become more noticeable.
Merging into heavy traffic can be difficult, especially on interstates and highways where cars are traveling at high rates of speed. Even experienced drivers can make mistakes when merging. For inexperienced drivers, attempting to merge into heavy traffic at high speeds can result in a traffic accident. Incorrect merging maneuvers can cause other drivers to swerve into other lanes or slam on the breaks. On an interstate, the result could be a multi-car accident. It is extremely important that all drivers learn proper merging rules and follow those rules each time they change lanes or enter traffic from an off-ramp.
It is possible for victims of traffic accidents to go into shock immediately after the collision. Shock is a serious physical condition that can have life-threatening complications. According to the Mayo Clinic, a person’s organs do not receive sufficient oxygen or blood when you are in shock. Therefore, if medical treatment is not administered for shock, permanent damage can occur. In some cases, a person could die if they do not receive treatment.
When you are injured in an accident, you might be entitled to recover money for your expenses and damages by filing a personal injury claim. Your claim is filed against the party responsible for the accident. In a traffic accident, that party could be the other driver, a government agency, or a corporation. In a slip and fall accident, your claim would be against the property owner or tenant. If a defective product caused your injury, your claim could be against one or more parties, including the product’s designer and manufacturer.