California is an “at fault” state for car accidents. In other words, you must prove another driver caused the crash to recover money from that driver’s insurance company for your injuries and damages. Therefore, California law states that all drivers carry a minimum amount of automobile liability insurance. The purpose of this insurance is to protect other people in the event you cause an accident. The minimum coverage a driver must have according to California Insurance Code §11580.1b is: Damage to property — $5,000 Injury or death to one person in the accident — $15,000 Injury or death of two or more people in the accident — $30,000 Whether liability insurance covers car rental charges after an accident depends on whether you are the driver who caused the crash or an accident victim.
Head-on collisions in Fresno can cause severe and fatal injuries to the drivers and occupants of both vehicles. This type of car crash is one of the most dangerous vehicle accidents you can be involved in for several reasons. In many head-on collisions, occupants are crushed as the front of the vehicle crumples upon impact. In other cases, the occupants may be thrown from the vehicle.
Are you prepared for spring break 2018? If you do not have your children signed up for day camps or activities, you might be scrambling to find something for your children to do. Here are a few of the family friendly activities we discovered in and around Fresno. Puzzling Adventures – Monday, March 26, 2018
Unfortunately, motorcycle accidents result in substantial damages because the injuries from an accident tend to be catastrophic. When a motorcyclist is in a collision with another vehicle, the rider has no protection from the impact of the collision. Even riders who wear a helmet and other protective gear can be seriously injured in a motorcycle
Is your child ready for Halloween? Halloween is a great holiday for children because they can dress up in a costume and get lots of free candy. However, Halloween is one of the most dangerous holidays for children. Many children are injured each year in pedestrian accidents. Parents need to take steps to help reduce the risk of injury for their children.
It would be great if we could turn back time so that we could correct missteps that cost us money, stress, or time. Unfortunately, this is not possible. However, we can learn new things that can help us if another similar situation occurs again or if a family member or friend experiences a similar situation or event. Sadly, most people do not search for what to do after a traffic accident until they have been injured in a traffic accident. It is too late to take some of the steps they should have taken; however, the information they learn may help them going forward or if they are ever in a similar situation. For that reason, our Fresno traffic accident attorneys offer the following information for anyone who has been injured in a traffic accident or knows someone who has been injured in a traffic accident.
Being injured in a Fresno car accident can have a substantial impact on your future. Your ability to earn a living, perform the same daily tasks, and even care for yourself or your family can be changed forever. The days, weeks, and months after a car accident can be filled with anxiety, stress, and pain. There are many decisions you need to make, including how to pay your medical costs and living expenses while you are out of work. You may also need to decide how you want to proceed with your medical treatment when given a choice between several options. Weighing the pros and cons of each treatment is important, just as it is important to weigh your options for deciding how to handle your accident claim.
It is easy to make a mistake when you are handling a car accident claim, especially if you have never been in an accident or dealt with an insurance adjuster. Below are five mistakes that can seriously harm your claim if you are not very careful. Mistake Number One: Not Calling the Police The other driver may try to convince you that you can handle the “matter” between the two of you. Unless you know you are not injured and the damage is minor, this is a mistake. Because you could have suffered whiplash or another injury that may not show signs until a few hours or days later, not calling the police can be a huge mistake. It is better to have an official record of the crash to prove the accident occurred. While you can pursue an accident claim without a police report, it can help to have the report if the other driver tries to claim he or she was not involved or did not cause the crash.
When you are injured in a traffic-related accident, product liability accident, slip and fall (premises liability case), or another personal injury accident, the personal injury laws in California provide a way for you to recover money for your injuries. The money you recover is intended to compensate you for your financial losses (i.e. property damage, lost wages, medical expenses, travel costs, etc.) and your non-economic losses (i.e. pain and suffering damages). An insurance adjuster for the other party may approach you early in your case to offer a settlement for your claim. You should be careful when agreeing to accept a settlement offer for several reasons. As experienced Fresno personal injury attorneys, we want you to receive a settlement amount that is equal to the full amount of damages you suffered because of another party’s negligence. For this reason, we offer free legal consultations so that you can learn about your options before you accept a settlement offer that is lower than the amount you deserve for your claim.
In some cases, you may be entitled to recover money for your car accident claim even though you are partially at fault for the crash. Because of California’s comparative fault law, you may be able to receive compensation for a portion of your medical bills, lost wages, and non-economic damages. To determine if you can recover money for your claim, we urge you to call our Fresno accident attorneys for a free consultation today. How Does Comparative Fault Work in California? California has adopted a pure comparative fault standard for personal injury cases. When more than one party is responsible for the cause of an accident, the court “compares” the fault for the accident and assigns a percentage of fault to each responsible party.