California is an “at fault” state for car accidents. In other words, you must prove another driver caused the crash to recover money from that driver’s insurance company for your injuries and damages. Therefore, California law states that all drivers carry a minimum amount of automobile liability insurance. The purpose of this insurance is to protect other people in the event you cause an accident. The minimum coverage a driver must have according to California Insurance Code §11580.1b is: Damage to property — $5,000 Injury or death to one person in the accident — $15,000 Injury or death of two or more people in the accident — $30,000 Whether liability insurance covers car rental charges after an accident depends on whether you are the driver who caused the crash or an accident victim.
When you need medical care, you expect to receive help. You do not expect to hurt by the doctor or other medical provider. Sadly, some patients will be the victims of medical malpractice. When a doctor or other health care provider fails in his duty of care, a patient might recover compensation for damages by filing a medical malpractice claim.
When you are injured in a car accident, you can suffer a variety of injuries. Some injuries are easy to notice, such as broken bones, lacerations, and burns. However, some injuries may not be as easily known immediately after a car accident, including concussions and whiplash. An accident victim can walk away from the crash feeling “fine” when he or she is really injured. It could just take several hours or days for the person to discover the injury. Once the shock of the accident wears off, the symptoms become more noticeable.
It is possible for victims of traffic accidents to go into shock immediately after the collision. Shock is a serious physical condition that can have life-threatening complications. According to the Mayo Clinic, a person’s organs do not receive sufficient oxygen or blood when you are in shock. Therefore, if medical treatment is not administered for shock, permanent damage can occur. In some cases, a person could die if they do not receive treatment.
Will you be adding a teen driver to your household this year? If so, you will want to take advantage of every resource you can to help your teen driver learn safe driving habits. According to the California DMV, drivers between the ages of 16 to 19 years have the highest average crash and traffic violation rates compared to any other age group. Therefore, it is very important to teach your teen drivers safe driving skills from the very first time they sit down behind the wheel of a vehicle.
When you are injured in a traffic accident, the financial losses can be substantial. In addition to being entitled to receive reimbursement for the financial losses from the party who caused the crash, you are entitled to file a claim for your pain and suffering damages. The first step in recovering money for your claim is to file an injury claim with the party’s insurance company. Many people have heard things from family or friends about filing accident claims. However, some of that information might not be 100 percent accurate. Below are three common misconceptions about receiving compensation for personal injury claims.
Are you searching for ways to keep your children entertained over the holiday break? Below are several ideas that you might find helpful when your children are complaining about being bored, or you want them to do something other than play video games or watch television.
If you are considering a special toy for a child, you need to take a moment to consider the safety concerns before purchasing the toy. Thousands of children are injured or killed in accidents involving toys each year in the United States. The holidays can be a dangerous time for children because children receive gifts from people other than parents who may not understand the safety concerns if they do not have children of their own.
PermalinkBicycle Accident, Bus Accident, Car Accident, Catastrophic Injury, Construction Accident, Dog Bites, Injury Lawyer, Medical Malpractice, Motorcycle Accident, Pedestrian Accident, Personal Injury, Premises Liability, Product Liability, Serious Work Injury, Slip And Fall, Truck Accident, Wrongful Death
If you are injured in a personal injury accident, you may be entitled to be compensated for your injuries, losses, and damages under California’s personal injury laws. However, knowing whether your claim will be approved is a different matter. Even though you believe you have a valid claim, you must prove each of the elements required to establish fault and liability according to the law for an injury claim. Our California personal injury attorneys can help you file a claim to recover money for your injury claim. You might be entitled to recover compensation for your medical bills, lost income, and other out-of-pocket expenses, in addition to compensation for your pain and suffering. Call (559) 500-5000 or 1-800-954-4444 for your free consultation with a California personal injury lawyer in Fresno, Stockton, Los Angeles, or the surrounding areas.
PermalinkBicycle Accident, Bus Accident, Car Accident, Construction Accident, Dog Bites, Injury Lawyer, Medical Malpractice, Motorcycle Accident, Pedestrian Accident, Personal Injury, Premises Liability, Product Liability, Serious Work Injury, Slip And Fall, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI), Truck Accident, Wrongful Death
Have you been injured in a personal injury accident in Los Angeles, Stockton, Fresno, or the surrounding areas? Is the insurance company for the other party delaying, denying, or underpaying your claim? Do you feel alone? If so, you need a California personal injury attorney to help you fight the insurance company for the money you deserve. However, you want to hire the right attorney for your needs. Below are several mistakes that you want to avoid when hiring a personal injury law firm in California.