Why Do You Need to Pay Attention to Time Limits in California Personal Injury Cases?
If you or a loved one is injured in an accident, you may be entitled to receive compensation for your damages. Examples of accidents that often give rise to an accident claim are slip and fall accidents, motorcycle crashes, car accidents, commercial truck crashes, and pedestrian accidents. Any accident that results in an injury or death can result in compensation for the accident victim.
To receive compensation, the accident victim must prove that the other party caused the accident and the victim suffered injuries and damages because of the accident. The types of damages and amounts of compensation vary based on the facts and circumstances of each claim. However, at least one thing is the same in all accident claims — time for filing a claim is limited.
California’s Statute of Limitations
Under California’s Statute of Limitations, accident victims have a set time to file lawsuits to recover compensation for an injury. In other words, if you fail to file a claim before the expiration of the statute of limitations, you are barred from recovering compensation from the party responsible for your injuries.
For example, in most car accident cases, you have two years from the date of the car accident to file a lawsuit. However, if you were injured because of medical malpractice, you only have one year. You must be very careful when dealing with
There are exceptions to the general rules. For instance, if a government entity is involved in the accident, you must file a claim within six months or lose your right to file a claim. Another exception deals with victims who are under the age of 18 years when injured. In many cases, minor have until the age of 18 years to file a lawsuit. There are also special rules for cases involving wrongful death and assault.
Time Limits in Personal Injury Cases Can Be Complicated
The time limit you have to file a lawsuit in a personal injury case is not always easy to determine. In some cases, the time limit may begin from the date you discovered the injury instead of the date of the action that caused the injury. Calculating the correct time limit for the correct type of personal injury case can be a complex matter. If you do not calculate the correct date, you could lose your right to recover compensation for your medical bills, property damage, lost wages, emotional suffering, and physical pain.
Instead of leaving the matter to chance, contact a Fresno personal injury attorney as soon as possible after an accident. An experienced attorney can evaluate your case, advise you of your legal options, and tell you exactly how long you have to file a claim or lawsuit to collect damages.
Call for A Free Appointment with A Fresno Personal Injury Attorney
The attorneys of Torem & Associates offer free consultations for accident victims and their families. We are dedicated to helping injured victims in Fresno and the greater Central California Valley area. Call our office at (888) 500-5000or use the contact form on our website to request additional information or schedule your free, no-obligation case evaluation with a trusted Fresno personal injury attorney.Categories: