WE'RE AVAILABLE 24/7 (888) 500-5000

Review of 2018 Changes in California Traffic Laws

Torem & Associates

Drivers in California began the New Year with a few new traffic laws. Two of these traffic laws went into effect on January 1 and two more become effective on July 1. The new laws are aimed at making California roads safer for everyone who uses our roads each day.

Traffic Laws That Went into Effect on January 1, 2018

Motorcyclists in California

If you are considering a motorcycle purchase in 2018, you need to know about the change in the law requiring riders to pass the California DMV’s motorcycle skills test before receiving their motorcycle license. Under the new law, the California DMV will now accept a certificate of completion of an approved motorcycle training program instead of the DMV’s motorcycle skills test. The program must be approved by the California Highway Patrol to be used to bypass the motorcycle skills test.

Marijuana Laws in California

Recreational marijuana is now legal in California. However, it remains illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana. A new law that went into effect this year also makes it illegal to smoke marijuana or consume products containing marijuana while operating a vehicle. Passengers are also forbidden to smoke or consume any marijuana products in the vehicle. In other words, you may have possession of marijuana in accordance with the new recreational marijuana laws in California, but drivers and passengers are prohibited from using marijuana in a vehicle.

Traffic Laws That Go into Effect July 1, 2018

Changes in DUI Laws for Rideshares

If a driver is operating a vehicle with a passenger for hire, it is illegal to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .04 percent or more. In other words, Uber, Lyft, and other for-hire drivers are held to a higher standard now for DUIs when they have paying passengers in their vehicle.

Seat Belts on Buses

On July 1, the driver and all passengers on commercial buses and charter buses must wear their seat belt. The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) requires all new buses to be equipped with safety belts. Failing to wear a safety belt could result in a fine under the new traffic law. Parents of children under the age of 16 years are responsible for ensuring the child is restrained in a safety belt or child passenger restraint system.

Traffic Accidents in Stockton and Fresno

Our Fresno and Stockton traffic accident attorneys help accident victims file claims against the driver who caused the crash. Being injured in a car crash is a traumatic event. In addition to the physical and emotional toll caused by an injury, the financial burden caused by a traffic crash can be overwhelming. Our lawyers work diligently to protect the rights of accident victims and fight for fair and just settlements for injury claims.

Call Torem & Associates at (888) 500-5000 or use the contact form on our website to get more information about filing an injury claim. We offer no-obligation case evaluations and free consultations. Our goal is to provide you with experienced legal counsel to help reduce the stress you are experiencing because of an automobile accident.


Free Consultation

Call (888) 500-5000 to learn about legal options